New league structure from 1997

General description

At the NFF meeting last weekend (Feb 24-25) it was decided to change the structure at the second and third level of the Norwegian league i.e. the first and second division.

From 1997 onwards, the first division will consist of one single group of 14 teams (today: 2 groups of 12), whereas the second divison will consist of 8 groups of 12 teams (today: 6 groups of 12). The premier division and the lower divisions remain unchanged.


In 1996 the promotion/relegation between the three upper divisions will be organized as follows: From 1997 the promotion/relegation will be:
29. september 1996